APSIPA Speech, Language, and Audio (SLA) TC meeting

December 14, 2016, Jeju, Korea

Attendee:

- Prof. Changchun Bao
- Prof. Woon-Seng Gan
- Prof. Dong Wang
- Prof. Christian Ritz
- Prof. Waleed Abdulla
- Prof. Yoshinobu Kajikawa
- Prof. Shoji Makino
- Prof. Tatsuya Kawahara
- Prof. Chin-Hui Lee
- Prof. Jianwu Dang
- Prof. Lei Xie
- Prof. Shinji Watanabe
- Prof. Thomas Fang Zheng

Agenda:

- 0) self-introduction
- 1) Prof. Bao's report on activities of SLA TC in 2016
 - a) Summarize the paper submission and review of the SLA track in APSIPA 2016.
 - b) Summarize other activities of SLA in 2016, e.g., news letters.
 - c) Summarize the new TC election procedure, and announce the voting results.

2) New TC onboard speech

- a) Prof. Woon-Seng Gan (the new TC chair)
- b) Prof. Dong Wang (the new TC vice chair)

3) Free discussion

a) Discuss the problem of country diversity, gender diversity, nation diversity, research field diversity in TC, and some possible approaches to guarantee the diversity, e.g., encouraging nomination from weak groups and sectors.

b) Discuss the possibility of flexible service duration for TC members, to avoid simultaneous retirement and large-scale election.

c) Discuss the possibility to apply APSIPA 2020 in New Zealand. Prof. Waleed Abdulla agreed to apply.

Appendence: SLA TC election

The present APSIPA SLA involves 42 members (including chair, vice chair, past chair and secretary). There will be 22 members finishing their second term of service. At the same time, the new TC chair and vice chair need to be elected. In summary, there will be at most 24 TC members to be elected, plus the chair, vice chair and secretary.

By the voting deadline, 30 (totally 42) current TC members attended the election, and the candidates who got at least 21 votes will serve in the new TC. The new elected chair/vice chair/secretary and TC members are list as follows:

Chair:

• Woon-Seng Gan (Nanyang Technological University, Sigapore)

Vice Chair:

• Dong Wang (Tsinghua University, China)

Secretary:

Chuang Shi (NTU, Singapore)

TC member (ordered by last name):

- Berlin Chen (National Taiwan Normal University, Taiwan)
- Chia-Ping Chen (National Sun Yat-sen University, Taiwan)
- Jun Du (University of Science and Technology, China)
- Maoshen Jia (Beijing University of Technology, China)
- Jiqing Han (University of Haerbin, China)
- JianJun He (NTU, Sigapore)
- Kong Aik Lee (I^2R, Singapore)
- Ji-Hwan Kim (Sogang University, Korea)
- Hong Kook Kim (Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology, Korea)
- Norihide Kitaoka (Tokushima University, Japan)
- Ming Li (Sun Yat-Sen University, China)
- Zhanyu Ma (Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications, China)
- Atsunori Ogawa (NTT, Japan)
- Lim Boon Pang (Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore)
- Hiroshi Saruwatari (University of Tokyo, Japan)
- Yu Tsao (Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
- Masashi Unoki (Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Japan)
- Liang Vincent Wang (DTS, Sigapore)
- Longbiao Wang (Tianjin University, China)
- Jianguo Wei (Tianjin University, China)
- Xiong Xiao (NTU, Singapore)
- Gaoyan Zhang (Tianjin University, China)
- Weibin Zhu (Beijing Jiaotong University, China)