2013 APSIPA SLA TC Meeting

Date: October 30, 2013, Wednesday

Time: 12:00 - 13:30

Venue: Coral, 42nd floor, 85 Sky Tower Hotel, Kaohsiung, Taiwan Chair: Chung-Hsien Wu, National Cheng Kung Univ. (Taiwan)

Attendee:

Jen-Tzung Chien, National Chiao Tung Univ. (Taiwan)

- Jianwu Dang, Tianjin Univ. (China)
- Waleed Abdulla, Univ. Auckland (New Zealand)
- Changchun Bao (Vice Chair), Beijing Univ. Tech. (China)
- Pascale Fung, HKUST (Hong Kong)
- Haizhou Li, Institute for Infocomm Research (Singapore)
- Shoji Makino, Univ. Tsukuba (Japan)
- Jianhua Tao, CAS Institute of Automation (China)
- Hsin-Min Wang (Secretary), Academia Sinica (Taiwan)
- Lei Xie, Northwestern Polytech Univ. (China)
- Thomas Zheng, Tsinghua Univ. (China)

Agenda:

- 1. Self-introduction
- 2. Working report
 - Paper statistics of APSIPA2013
 - 1) SLA received 68 submissions for regular papers, accounting to 43% of all and being largest among all TCs. 49 papers were accepted and the acceptance rate is around 72%.
 - 2) 7 special sessions were organized.
 - Friend Labs
 - TC member election
- 3. Motion 1: New TC member election

Proposals received before the meeting from TC members:

- 5 new members are elected for 2014-2016 and the other 5 new members to be elected next year for 2015-2017.
- More than 5 (say 8 or something) this year. Inactive members (observed for a certain time window) will lose the qualifications and we can have quota for 2015~2017.
- Replace inactive members in Japan, China, Singapore, and USA with new

ones.

- Quota per country: maximum 5, minimum 1
- Inactive: never fulfilled paper review in the term (3 years).

Resolution:

- 7 new members are elected for term 2014-2016
 - 1) Woon-Seng Gan (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
 - 2) Shinji Watanabe (Mitsubishi Electric Research Laboratories, USA)
 - 3) Koichi Shinoda (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)
 - 4) Rongshan Yu (Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore)
 - 5) Srinivasan Umesh (Indian Institute of Technology-Madras, India)
 - 6) Dong Wang, (Tsinghua University, China)
 - 7) Askar Hamdulla (Xinjiang University of China, China)
- Each TC member must
 - at least attend once the SLA TC meeting during APSIPA ASC in a 3-year window;
 - 2) at least review 3 APSIPA ASC papers in a 3-year window;
 - 3) at least vote twice for the new TC members in a 3-year window. A member who does not fulfill the above 3 requirements are considered inactive and will be replaced in the next SLA TC member election.
- There is no need to set quota per country at the moment.
- 4. Each TC is requested to contribute one article to each APSIPA newsletter (four issues per year).